Table of Contents
Pea protein is gaining popularity as consumers are buying foods that are “back to the basics” meaning the food consumption trend is shifting back toward eating whole foods, plant-based foods, and vegetarian or vegan friendly products. If you are ready for a plant-based protein in your life, you should consider pea protein. It’s exceptionally healthy and you can still make those gains in the gym with plant protein.
How Is Pea Protein Made?
The process of making pea protein starts with yellow split peas. These little legumes are dried out and ground into powder. From there, the soluble protein is extracted and packaged as a healthy protein supplement.
DIY Idea- You can even make and customize your own pea protein powder. Check out wikiHow! You can find the link at the end of the article.
Make Gains Without Animal Products
You may be wondering, “Can I still make gains in the gym with veggie protein?”
The answer is a resounding YES!
Maybe you are looking for a new protein source or maybe you are vegetarian or vegan. Either way pea protein allows you to consume protein that is not animal-based. It is non-dairy, non-GMO, and gluten-free, making is a very clean and powerful vegetable protein source.
Many plant based proteins have been ignored by serious lifters because they only contain 10-15 grams of protein per scoop. Pea protein is different. It stands out with a whopping 25 grams of protein in each scoop which is comparable to any whey.
Complete Protein Or Not? That Is The Concern…
Another argument serious lifters make against plant-protein is that it’s not “complete.”
Isolated pea proteins are considered “complete” because they do contain the spectrum of essential amino acids, or those that the body can’t produce. However, pea protein is low in certain amino acids, namely cysteine. It also lacks essential fatty acids that you get from nuts and seafood.
As long as you are not using pea protein as your only source of protein, you don’t have to worry, you are still getting a great protein.
Lactose Intolerant Or Allergic To Dairy? – No Fear, Pea Protein Is Here
According to the U.S. National Library of Medicine,
"Approximately 65 percent of the human population has a reduced ability to digest lactose after infancy."
With well over half the population experiencing difficulty with digesting lactose, the search has been on to find a superior plant protein. Peas are it!
Are you allergic to dairy?
Less than 1% of the adult population actually has milk allergens. There is a difference in being lactose intolerant and having an allergen. Allergens can be life threatening. However, if you are allergic to dairy, no fear! You can consume pea protein because it is plant-based, not dairy-based.
Other Perks Peas Provide (Say That Fast 3 Times):
- Vegan and vegetarian friendly protein
- Pea protein may help with weight loss due to the fact that is lowers ghrelin levels, aka the “hunger hormone”
- It’s hypoallergenic, cholesterol free, and fat free
- It’s high in branched-chained amino acids, or BCAAs
- It does not provoke flatulence like some proteins do – That’s right, no protein farts
- Pea protein is easily digested